Review

Ferocious

(Vicarious #2)

Paula Stokes

IMG_6831

5 ★ – Explosive Conclusion
PUBLISHED BY TOR TEEN AUGUST 15. 2017
GENRE(S): YOUNG ADULT, CONTEMPORARY, SCI-FI, THRILLER
PAGES: HARDCOVER 352
BUY AMAZONBARNES AND NOBLEBOOK DEPOSITORY

 

When Winter Kim finds out that her sister is dead and that she has a brother she never knew about, only two things matter―finding what’s left of her family and killing the man who destroyed her life. Her mission leads her from St. Louis to Los Angeles back to South Korea, where she grew up.
Things get increasingly dangerous once Winter arrives in Seoul. Aided by her friends Jesse and Sebastian, Winter attempts to infiltrate an international corporation to get close to her target, a nefarious businessman named Kyung. But keeping her last remaining loved ones out of the line of fire proves difficult, and when all seems to be lost, Winter must face one last devastating decision: is revenge worth sacrificing everything for? Or can she find a spark of hope in the darkness that threatens to engulf her?

What an explosive conclusion! Ferocious is everything I hoped in a sequel and as I said in my review for Vicarious, I’m so not ready to move on from this mind-blowing series.

Ferocious picks up as Winter plans for her revenge against Kyung, the man who’s caused her so much pain and took away everyone she loves. Intrigue, drama, mystery, action, and some humor keep the story moving along. There are so many twist and turns that I never knew which way the story was going. I was definitely on edge the whole time and I absolutely loved it! But amidst all the tension and madness, there are plenty of heartwarming and sweet moments too… and that made me love this series even more.

When I first met Winter, she believed that she’s too damaged to love and be loved. Seeing her grow every step of the way was so rewarding. I was totally fist pumping when she finally comes to realize that her past does not define who she is nor does it determine what her future will be. I truly adore Jesse with all my heart. He genuinely cares for Winter and does what he can to protect and help her in every way possible. He’s kind, gentle, and patient so it’s difficult not to fall for someone like him. And Baz… he’s just so awesome. I loved that I was able to get to know him more and by the end, I definitely wanted to give him a big hug.

The romance in this book is ridiculously SWOONY and absolutely one of my favorite parts of this book. Winter and Jesse are so freaking cute together! Their chemistry and slow-burn romance made my heart melt from the very beginning — sweet, adorable and most of all, realistic. It never takes the front seat, but blends in so perfectly with the story. I really enjoyed watching them work out their feelings for each other and will forever ship them.

IMG_6832

Ferocious is truly one fantastic read! It’s thrilling, exciting, well-paced, and full of surprises. It deals with tough issues that will break your heart, but leaves you with so much hope and love. It’s bittersweet saying goodbye to these characters, but the ending feels so right – the perfect conclusion to a remarkable series.

I have to mention that Paula Stokes is without a doubt a talented and versatile writer. I fell in love with her writing style when I read Girl Against the Universe last year. I now have read 4 books and a short story and honestly LOVED them all. Paula’s writing is incredibly realistic, captivating, and hits all the right FEELS. Whether it’s cute and swoony like GATU or intense and dark like Vicarious and Ferocious, she delivers her story with so much heart. If you haven’t read any of Paula’s books, you are totally missing out on something absolutely amazing!

I received an advanced reader copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a fair review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Follow / Connect with Paula Stokes: Website / Instagram / Twitter / Facebook

Sincerely Karen Jo

2 thoughts on “Review

Leave a comment