August Wrap Up

Hello lovelies and Happy first day of September. August went by so fast, but it was such an awesome reading month for me. I was able to read 14 books!!! It’s been so long since I’ve read more than 10 books in a month and it felt sooo GOOD! Now all I need is make a dent on my Netgalley #TBR. It probably doesn’t help that I keep requesting, but I’m going to really try not to  this month but..but.. but.. there are just so many good books I want to read. Anyway, I ended up loving most of the books I read so without further ado, here are the books I got through in August.

To read my full review, just click the title of the book.

 

Mr. 60% by Clete Barrett Smith

★★ 3/4 – NOT BAD, BUT NOT AMAZING

32970056

 

I don’t dislike this book, but it definitely did not work for me. I think that Mr. 60% by Clete Barrett Smith is a decent story with the potential to be amazing and is probably that to other readers, but it just felt dull for me. Maybe I just went into this expecting to feel something and when I didn’t, I ended up being so disappointed that I couldn’t relate to the characters and story anymore. There were some good things about this book and I did enjoy the humor and the relationships between the characters, but it just didn’t WOW me like I thought it would.

 

The Big F by Maggie Ann Martin

★★★★★ – FABULOUS AND FUN

IMG_6591

OHMAHGOSH this book… I breezed through this one in less than 24 hours and absolutely loved every moment. The Big F by Maggie Ann Martin is such a heartwarming story about self-discovery, family, friendship, and love. It’s completely adorable, sweet, and just the perfect summer read that will leave a smile on your face.

 

Alienation (Starstruck #2) by S.E. Anderson (Beta Read)

★★★★★ – ABSOLUTELY AMAZING

Alienation-Large

One of my favorite series ever!Beta read for Sarah and Alienation is absolutely fantastic. Full review to come. Read my review for Starstruck here and add Alienation on Goodreads.

 

The Crowns of Croswald (The Croswald Series #1) by D.E. Night

★★★★★ – MAGICAL AND MESMERIZING

IMG_5801

The description of the world in this book is just amazing – breathtakingly rich and so detailed that I felt like I was in Croswald myself. I don’t want to give you more than that because you need to experience it for yourself… But even if I did, I just don’t think there are enough words to describe how beautiful the world is… Just know that Croswald is whimsical, fascinating and undeniably one of the most magical places I’ve ever been to.

Above the Sky (Above the Sky #1) by J.W. Lynne

★★★★★ – Brilliant and Thrilling

Above the Sky cover 1600

I’m so happy Jen asked me to read her book and now I have a new series to rave about. The writing and world building is amazing. The characters are absolutely lovable. The plot is fast paced, full of action, and filled with a lot of twists and turns that will leaving you wanting more. Above the Sky is fantastic in so many ways and I can’t wait to read the sequel.

 

Vicarious (Vicarious #1) by Paula Stokes

★★★★★ – INTENSE, TWISTED AND MIND-BLOWING!

IMG_6208

Vicarious is haunting, riveting, and absolutely fantastic. Paula Stokes not only manages to keep you guessing and on the edge, but she also excels in creating complicated, but lovable characters. The plot is thrilling, action-packed and full of twist that will completely blow your mind! I don’t want to spoil anything for you, but Stokes surely knows how to keep you on your toes. The mystery, the secrets, the drama, the action, the slow burn romance (yes! there’s a little romance and it’s so sweet) had me flipping the pages way past my bed time.

 

Ferocious (Vicarious  #2) by Paula Stokes

★★★★★ – EXPLOSIVE ENDING

ferocious_final_web res

DAMN.. That was one intense and wickedly awesome ride!!! I binged this duology and LOVED every moment. I honestly don’t even know where to begin.! My mind is still reeling and I’m seriously having a hard time moving on…Full review to come.

 

Starswept by Mary Fan

★★★★★ – BEAUTIFUL AND UNFORGETTABLE

IMG_5873

Starswept is absolutely beautiful through and through. I mean the book itself is ridiculously gorgeous! The cover, the design, and the interior chapter spreads… I seriously don’t think I’ve ever seen such a pretty book. And you know the saying “Don’t judge a book by its cover,” well you can just throw that out the window right now because Starswept is stunning and undeniably mesmerizing.

 

Her Book Boyfriend by K.R. Grace

★★★★ – SHORT BUT SUPER SWEET

IMG_6656

I’ve never read anything by K.R. Grace before, but I enjoyed this one so much that I’m excited to check out her other books. The romance is super sweet and adorable. I definitely went to sleep with a dorky smile on my face. If you’re looking for a quick, fun and enjoyable story with witty and lovable characters, then definitely pick this up!

 

Bell of Eternity (Celtic Legends #2) by Martina Boone

★★★★ 1/2 – ABSOLUTELY HEARTWARMING

34947351

I LOVE Lake of Destiny so I was super excited when Martina Boone sent me an ARC of Bell of Eternity. Brando had already charmed me in every possible way, so I couldn’t wait to get started on his book. I must admit…Lake of Destiny still takes the #1 spot in my heart… BUT Brando and Emma’s love story definitely made me swoon. With gorgeous writing, breathtaking setting, heartwarming storyline, sweet romance, lovable characters, intrigue and a bit of mystery, Bell of Eternity will take a piece of your heart. Celtic Legends is definitely one of my favorite series ever and I absolutely cannot wait to read what comes next. I’ll have a longer review later on.

 

Dirty Little Secret (Forbidden Desires #1) by Kendall Ryan

★★★★- IRRESISTIBLE AND SEXY

34948540

Really enjoyed this one! Full review to come

 

No Ordinary Star (No Ordinary Star #1) M.C. Frank

★★★★★ – EXTRA ORDINARY!

IMG_6710

This book is probably one of the shortest book I’ve read, but it’s definitely not lacking. It’s beautifully written – elegant, poetic, and affecting. I’m completely enthralled by this story and can’t wait to see what happens in the next two installments. I’m already missing Felix and Astra…Oh and I really hope the hint of “romance” becomes stronger because I’m totally shipping tin soldier and match girl.

 

Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

★★★ – INTERESTING, BUT JUST OKAY

IMG_7903

While this book didn’t quite work for me, I do think Miller has some great ideas and the potential to write an amazing sequel. I’m not too confident I can recommend this 100%, but just because I didn’t love it, doesn’t mean you won’t. Also, I’m still quite interested in reading the sequel because after that ending… well I just have to know what happens next.

Breaking the Rules of Revenge By Samantha Bohrman

★★★★★ – SWOONY AND SO FUN

36054664

This book is so much fun! Full Review to come.

 

So how did you do with your August TBR? What were some of your favorite books? Let me know in the comments down below!

Have a great weekend!

Sincerely Karen Jo

Leave a comment