Review

The Crowns of Croswald

(The Croswald Series #1)

D.E. Night

IMG_5829

5★ – Magical and Mesmerizing
Published by Stories Untold Press July 21, 2017
Genre(s): Fantasy, Middle-Grade, Adventure
Pages: Kindle Edition 320
Buy Amazon
In Croswald, the only thing more powerful than dark magic is one secret…
For sixteen years Ivy Lovely has been hidden behind an enchanted boundary that separates the mundane from the magical. When Ivy crosses the border, her powers awaken. Curiosity leads her crashing through a series of adventures at the Halls of Ivy, a school where students learn to master their magical blood and the power of Croswald’s mysterious gems. When Ivy’s magic—and her life—is threatened by the Dark Queen, she scrambles to unearth her history and save Croswald before the truth is swept away forever.

D.E. Night’s debut novel, The Crowns of Croswald, is a beautifully written fantasy story full of exciting adventure, magical creatures, and engaging characters. While some parts felt familiar and reminiscent of Harry Potter, I thought the author does wonderfully at creating a world that is different and a story that is unique in its own magnificent way.

IMG_5797

The description of the world in this book is just amazing – breathtakingly rich and so detailed that I felt like I was in Croswald myself. I don’t want to give you more than that because you need to experience it for yourself… But even if I did, I just don’t think there are enough words to describe how beautiful the world is… Just know that Croswald is whimsical, fascinating and undeniably one of the most magical places I’ve ever been to.

Night’s writing is gorgeous and captivating. She creates just enough intrigue and mystery to pull you in until you’re completely drawn to the story and the characters. I was absolutely entertained and mesmerized that I didn’t even realize when I was almost done with the book. The plot is fast-paced, thrilling and filled with fun surprises and hilarious mishaps that kept me turning the pages. I love the characters in this book. They’re quirky, witty and full of spunk. I adore Ivy with all my heart and can’t wait to find out more about her and her friends. While this book is written for the middle-age group, I definitely think anyone who loves adventure and magic would enjoy it. I most certainly did!

IMG_5801

Full of charming creatures, magical potions, secret doors, enchanted objects, delicious pies, badass characters, and a crazy evil villain, Night without a doubt has crafted one marvelous adventure for readers of all ages. Her writing is impressive and moving. The world building is exquisite and enchanting. The story is creative, intriguing and comes to life so effortlessly. The Crowns of Croswald is such a fun delightful debut novel. I cannot wait to continue Ivy’s adventure and be part of this world again.

If you’re looking for a fantastic exciting new series, then I absolutely recommend you pick this up ASAP. I’m positive you’ll enjoy this book and gobble it up like a delicious blueberry pie.

I received an advanced reader copy of this book from the author and publisher in exchange for a fair review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

Follow / Connect D.E. Night: Website / Instagram / Twitter / Facebook

Thanks for reading and hope you have a magical day!

Sincerely Karen Jo

One thought on “Review

Leave a comment